Meme Me!

I guess I have been living in a cave.  You may know exactly what the term “meme” means – but I’ve been scratching my head at the increasing mentions on online forums, Facebook group pages, and the random blog.   Memes being mentioned in conversations – like they are already widely known entities that I somehow missed.  I wondered if they were like an avatar, a new internet tool, or a derogatory phrase for people who wanted constant attention (me! me! look at me!)

With my children home sick (and luckily still sleeping – hence my being able to use the computer), and while I waited for my conference call to start, I decided to do what any rational person would do when they hear or learn of something new – I Googled it.  Even doing so, and reading the Wikipedia (the source for everything) description, I was still having a bit of trouble.  It is, after all, a concept – not something that you can pick up and hold or point to as a black and white example . . . but after visiting some websites, watching YouTube video’s and reading numerous accounts of “The Top 10 Memes”, I finally felt like I was catching on.

Description:  Memes are cultural symbols and social ideas that spread virally.

Here are my Top 3 Memes from 2012:

ErmaImagehgerd! This sounds like someone saying Oh my God! with a speech impediment.  Not nice – but it appeared EVERYWHERE!

Image

 

 

Image

 

McKayla’s “not impressed” look – McKayla Maroney’s reaction was captured after she won second place at the Olympics and it went viral.  Even the President got in on the act.

 

Gangnam styleKorean pop star dancing like he is riding a horse set a record on YouTube, inspired Flash Mobs and was copied by kids everywhere.


Bottom line:  As an author, my goal for 2013 is to memefy my author brand!

About Lynn Ricci

A mother, author, artist and lover of dark chocolate, coffee, and the beach.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

