Hell hath no fury . . . like a witch scorn’d

Earlier this month, I wrote a guest blog for Krystal’s Enchanting Reads while on a blog tour for Cursed.  I was reminded of it over the weekend when I heard of a woman whom I have no doubt would use black magic if she could.  Women can be scary . . . Anyway, I thought I would share that blog with you all today.  You can also visit Krystal’s blog above for more info on Cursed and an excerpt.

When I started writing Cursed I let my mom read the first chapter.  Let’s face it – I wasn’t ready for a critic yet but someone who would adore every word.  That’s what mothers do.  She read it and wanted more – but what I noticed was the request sounded genuine.  More genuine than when she read my first book since she is not into romances.  She could already tell this was something else.  Something a little darker.

I kept the book to myself for awhile, wondering which way it would go and knowing the back story was going to be just as much as the story as the present day if not more.  At one point she was hovering – and between books – and my mom being an avid reader I indulged her (and me) and gave her another ten chapters.  That was when she discovered the witch.

Witches have always fascinated me. They have a long, sordid history being portrayed as ugly old hags flying brooms, casting spells and wearing pointy black hats.  Suspected witches were hung not too far from where I live, in Salem, MA. The symbolic witch has appeared in movies, books, plays, television sitcoms, music and video games.  I will even admit I have dressed like one on Halloween . . . more than once.

But what I really like about witches is although they don’t have green skin and warts like the wicked witch of the west from Wizard of Oz with – there is more truth to a witch than some of the other creatures of the night like vampires, werewolves and zombies.  Practicing Wiccans are just misunderstood and misrepresented.  And like anyone, in any walk of life, you can come across a bad one.  And that, reader, is where things get interesting.  Because if there were some element of dark magic that a nice everyday witch may know, and she gets scorned, watch out.  Keep in mind, first and foremost she is a woman.  And as the old saying goes – “hell hath no fury . .  .”  A scorned woman’s anger can take her to very dark places.  And if she is already a bad apple then black magic in a scorned woman’s possession is deadly dangerous. 

Since this is a fictional novel, and I was not exploring or educating the reader on Wiccans, I chose to tell the tale with the scary version of a witch.  The witch in Cursed is a hybrid, or cross-breed.  She has some elements of another mythical and scary creature – a succubus.  I thought it would be fun to combine the ability to drain people’s life force with her other talents.  I actually enjoyed the witch character so much that I am thinking of writing a prequel to Cursed that explores how Selena the witch comes to being the angry, dark witch that she is.  That could be a fun book to write, but in the meantime, I hope you enjoy reading more about Selena in Cursed.

Since writing the blog above, I have started writing Selena’s tale.  The first chapter is done and I am building out the story now.  Its fun to take a character I already know, and go back to figure out how she became so scorned . . .

Cursed loop:

About Lynn Ricci

A mother, author, artist and lover of dark chocolate, coffee, and the beach.
Aside | This entry was posted in Book Tour and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

