Does a Creative Mind Have Internal Competition?

ImageRecently, I took my family down to Cape Cod for our annual summer vacation.  The Lower Cape is a magnificent piece of New England with miles and miles of beaches that are not overrun by hotels, quaint seaside villages and down town areas, historic places to visit, beautiful dunes, cranberry bogs and kettle ponds, and a quieter, simpler way of life that instills an inner peace and relaxation.  At least, that’s the way I see it when i visit Chatham every year.

During this trip I planned to get some writing done . . . but that didn’t happen.  I had my laptop, and I came equipped with not one but two books in various stages loaded and ready for me to continue writing . . . but instead I sat on the beach, walked through the galleries, and ate far too many ice cream cones.

In one gallery, The Artful Hand, I came across some great little birdhouses made out of classic books.  If I were a bird, I would want to live in one of these classic books!  I got a kick out of them and thought I would share here.  It also got me thinking about the workings of a creative mind since I write and paint . . . and the balance of enjoying and pursuing both.  Can one be a distraction from the other?  By not focusing on one area, does it hold me back from reaching my potential?  Or does one cultivate the other; thereby allowing a more free flow of ideas and creative processes?  Do other writers also share other creative outlets – is this typical?

I don’t have the answers, but I do know I wouldn’t give one up for the other.  And, although I have been more focused on my paintings at the moment, I know the characters in my head are getting restless and I will be turning back to them shortly.  The only question in my mind at this early morning hour while sipping my coffee is which will be my creative path for today . . .

About Lynn Ricci

A mother, author, artist and lover of dark chocolate, coffee, and the beach.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Does a Creative Mind Have Internal Competition?

  1. Awesome birdhouses! A ‘One Flew over the Cuckoos Nest’ is dying to be made.

    I’ve never read some inspiring books and thought dammit, if only I’d written instead. It’s very much a feeding process, in tat one feeds off the other, without one the other withers.
    So I’d say don’t worry about losing some sort of creative edge because you’re doing something else – the mind needs respite and distance to focus again. My 3 cents.

  2. Emily McDaid says:

    I was just pondering this exact topic today – very timely post! I sew and write books — those are my two creative outlets. I published my second novel in May and ever since I’ve been on what can only be described as a sewing binge…. shopping for fabric and notions every chance I get, using every naptime (the few I get these days) to sew, rather than write…obsessively looking for new patterns and projects… and I have been feeling rather guilty about not working on my third book more. But then today I thought to myself, you know what? Just let it be. Just let my creative mind work the way it wants to, rather than trying to force anything. My sewing is improving and I’m letting the ideas for my third book percolate. I just need to let myself go, rather than try to convince myself it’s nothing more than procrastination from writing. We should all be a little kinder to ourselves, right?! 🙂

  3. Doug says:

    I think one can compliment the other. Like when you are writing I bet you picture the scenes in your head and when you paint you probably lose yourself in the story of the painting. I remember one time when I was sculpting a monster face I had the whole story of his life unfold as I moved the clay around.

Leave a Reply

